Artistic Sacrifices

stockvault-recycle-wardrobe152788As the laborious editing of my 18th novel continues, I have come to regard each of the book’s twenty-odd chapters as characters all their own.

You see, in my mind, final edits should simply be a case of dolling scenes/chapters/etc. up. You know, making them look good for company (i.e. agents, publishers, and the like).

For instance…

Chapter Fourteen had to rock its hound-dog appearance.

Chapter Eight will be decked out in the finest party duds.

Chapter Nine is sporting a parka and mukluks.

And the Prologue went 18th century Twiggy.

When all these fine “characters” come together, it will hopefully be one heck of a party. A shindig any reader would feel happy to lose a night to.

Bottom line: Do whatever works for you to get the darn book done… even if it means playing a little dress-up.

Until tomorrow…

Chloe

2 thoughts on “Artistic Sacrifices

  1. Every time I try to write fiction, I inevitably come to a stale point. Typically, I crazy little stream of consciousness run will get things moving again. Every once in a while, I look back at the stream of consciousness and realize that it wasn’t so wacky after all!

    This comes to mind when I read certain things by Stephen King. I’ll get to points where I’m thinking, “Where can he possibly go with this” or “Where did this come from?” Then, I realize that maybe he hit a block and just muscled through with some stream of consciousness. Sometimes it takes me right out of the story, other times it ends up tying in quite well.

    Like you said, sometimes you just gotta do whatever it takes to get it done!

    Thanks for sharing.

    1. Oh, the journals I have dedicated to streams of consciousness! It is indeed a wonderful jump-starter. The trouble with my streams is that they usually lead me to completely new stories, new ideas, new characters. Being the curious one I am, I often follow these new leads and find myself so far, far afield I have trouble finding my way back to the original… But whenever I go looking for the “next project”, I inevitably end up dipping my toes back in my streams.
      Thanks so much for the comment!
      Chloe

Leave a Reply

